California DUI Punishments

First DUI

California DUI Penalties, DUI Punishments, DUI Law

First DUI Offense

California Vehicle Code §23536

  1. If any person is convicted of a first violation of Section 23152, that person shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 96 hours, at least 48 hours of which shall be continuous, nor more than six months and by a fine of not less than three hundred ninety dollars ($390), nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
  2. The court shall order that any person punished under subdivision (a), who is to be punished by imprisonment in the county jail, be imprisoned on days other than days of regular employment of the person, as determined by the court. If the court determines that 48 hours of continuous imprisonment would interfere with the person' s work schedule, the court shall allow the person to serve the imprisonment whenever the person is normally scheduled for time off from work. The court may make this determination based upon a representation from the defendant's attorney or upon an affidavit or testimony from the defendant.
  3. Except as provided in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 23538, the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. The court shall require the person to surrender the driver's license to the court in accordance with Section 13550.

California Vehicle Code §23538

Conditions of Probation for First Time Offense


Except as provided in subdivision (d), if the court grants probation to any person punished under Section 23536, in addition to the provisions of Section 23600 and any other terms and conditions imposed by the court, the court shall impose as a condition of probation that the person be subject to one of the following:

  1. Be confined in the county jail for at least 48 hours but not more than six months, and pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390), but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). Except as provided in paragraph (2), the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. The court shall require the person to surrender the driver's license to the court in accordance with Section 13550.
  2. Pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390) but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), and, if the person gives proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430, to the Department of Motor Vehicles, have the privilege to operate a motor vehicle restricted for 90 days to necessary travel to and from that person's place of employment and to and from participation in a program described in subdivision (b). If driving a motor vehicle is necessary to perform the duties of the person's employment, the restriction also shall allow the person to drive to locations within the person's scope of employment. Whenever the driving privilege is restricted pursuant to this paragraph, the person shall maintain proof of financial responsibility for three years.
  3. If the court elects to order a 90-day restriction as provided for in paragraph (2), the court shall order and advise the person of the following matters:
  • If the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended under Section 13353.2, the court-ordered restriction does not allow the person to operate a motor vehicle unless the suspension under Section 13353.2 has either been served to completion or set aside, and his or her license has been reinstated. The restriction of the driver's license described in paragraph (2) shall commence upon the reinstatement of the privilege to operate a motor vehicle.
  • If a suspension was not imposed pursuant to Section 13353.2, the person shall be advised by the court that the person's driving privilege may be suspended by the department pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 13352.4 until proof of financial responsibility is provided. (b) In any county where the board of supervisors has approved, and the State Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs has licensed, a program or programs described in Section 11837.3 of the Health and Safety Code, the court shall also impose as a condition of probation that the driver shall enroll and participate in, and successfully complete a driving-under-the-influence program, licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, in the driver's county of residence or employment, as designated by the court.
  1. The court shall refer a first offender whose blood-alcohol concentration was less than 0.20 percent, by weight, to participate for at least three months or longer, as ordered by the court, in a licensed program that consists of at least 30 hours of program activities, including those education, group counseling, and individual interview sessions described in Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 11836) of Part 2 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code.
  2. The court shall refer a first offender whose blood-alcohol concentration was 0.20 percent or more, by weight, or who refused to take a chemical test, to participate for at least six months or longer, as ordered by the court, in a licensed program that consists of at least 45 hours of program activities, including those education, group counseling, and individual interview sessions described in Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 11836) of Part 2 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code.
  3. The court shall advise the person at the time of sentencing that the driving privilege shall not be restored until the person has provided proof satisfactory to the Department of Motor Vehicles of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code.
  1. The court shall revoke the person's probation pursuant to Section 23602, except for good cause shown, for the failure to enroll in, participate in, or complete a program specified in subdivision (b).
  2. The court, in establishing reporting requirements, shall consult with the county alcohol program administrator. The county alcohol program administrator shall coordinate the reporting requirements with the department and with the State Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs. That reporting shall ensure that all persons who, after being ordered to attend and complete a program, may be identified for either:
  • failure to enroll in, or failure to successfully complete, the program, or
  • successful completion of the program as ordered.
  1. Notwithstanding subdivision (a), if the offense occurred in a vehicle requiring a driver with a class A or class B driver's license or with an endorsement specified in Section 15278, the court shall upon conviction order the department to suspend the driver's privilege pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352.

Second DUI

 
 
 

Second Offense DUI - 2nd Offense DUI

California Vehicle Code §23540

  • Punishment If any person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 and the offense occurred within ten (10) years of a separate violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, which resulted in a conviction, that person shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 90 days nor more than one year and by a fine of not less than three hundred ninety dollars ($390) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
  • Whenever, when considering the circumstances taken as a whole, the court determines that the person punished under this section would present a traffic safety or public safety risk if authorized to operate a motor vehicle during the period of suspension imposed under paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352, the court may disallow the issuance of a restricted driver's license required under Section 13352.5.
  • This section shall become operative on September 20, 2005.

California Vehicle Code §23542

Conditions of Probation for Second Time Offense

  • (1) If the court grants probation to a person punished under Section 23540, in addition to the provisions of Section 23600 and any other terms and conditions imposed by the court, the court shall impose as conditions of probation that the person be confined in county jail and fined under either of the following:

* For at least 10 days, but not more than one year, and pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390), but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). * For at least 96 hours, but not more than one year, and pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390), but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). A sentence of 96 hours of confinement shall be served in two increments consisting of a continuous 48 hours each. The two 48-hour increments may be served nonconsecutively.

(2) The person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the department under paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. The court shall require the person to surrender the driver's license to the court in accordance with Section 13550.

  • In addition to the conditions specified in subdivision (a), the court shall require the person to do either of the following: (1) Enroll and participate, for at least 18 months subsequent to the date of the underlying violation and in a manner satisfactory to the court, in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as designated by the court. The person shall complete the entire program subsequent to, and shall not be given any credit for any program activities completed prior to, the date of the current violation. The program shall provide for persons who cannot afford the program fee pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of Section 11837.4 of the Health and Safety Code in order to enable those persons to participate. (2) Enroll and participate, for at least 30 months subsequent to the date of the underlying violation and in a manner satisfactory to the court, in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. The person shall complete the entire program subsequent to, and shall not be given any credit for any program activities completed prior to, the date of the current violation.
  • The court shall advise the person at the time of sentencing that the driving privilege shall not be restored until proof satisfactory to the Department of Motor Vehicles of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program of the length required under this code licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code has been received in the department's headquarters.
  • Whenever, when considering the circumstances taken as a whole, the court determines that the person punished under this section would present a traffic safety or public safety risk if authorized to operate a motor vehicle during the period of suspension imposed under paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352, the court may disallow the issuance of a restricted driver's license required under Section 13352.5.
  • This section shall become operative on September 20, 2005.

Third DUI

 
 
 

Third DUI Offense

California Vehicle Code §23546

Conviction of Third Violation of §23152; Punishment:

  1. If any person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 and the offense occurred within ten years of two separate violations of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, or any combination thereof, which resulted in convictions, that person shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 120 days nor more than one year and by a fine of not less than three hundred ninety dollars ($390) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). The person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be revoked by the Department of Motor Vehicles as required in paragraph (5) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. The court shall require the person to surrender his or her driver's license to the court in accordance with Section 13550.
  2. Any person convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under this section shall be designated as a habitual traffic offender for a period of three years, subsequent to the conviction. The person shall be advised of this designation pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 13350.

California Vehicle Code §23548

Conditions of Probation for Third Time Offense  

  1. If the court grants probation to any person punished under Section 23546, in addition to the provisions of Section 23600 and any other terms and conditions imposed by the court, the court shall impose as conditions of probation that the person be confined in the county jail for at least 120 days but not more than one year and pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390) but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). The person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be revoked by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to paragraph (5) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. The court shall require the person to surrender the driver's license to the court in accordance with Section 13550.
  2. In addition to subdivision (a), if the court grants probation to any person punished under Section 23546, the court may order as a condition of probation that the person participate, for at least 30 months subsequent to the underlying conviction and in a manner satisfactory to the court, in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. In lieu of the minimum term of imprisonment specified in subdivision (a), the court shall impose as a condition of probation under this subdivision that the person be confined in the county jail for at least 30 days but not more than one year. The court shall not order the treatment prescribed by this subdivision unless the person makes a specific request and shows good cause for the order, whether or not the person has previously completed a treatment program pursuant to paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section 23542 or paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section 23562. A person ordered to treatment pursuant to this subdivision shall apply to the court or to a board of review, as designated by the court, at the conclusion of the program to obtain the court's order of satisfaction. Only upon the granting of that order of satisfaction by the court may the program issue its certificate of successful completion and report the completion to the Department of Motor Vehicles. A failure to obtain an order of satisfaction at the conclusion of the driving-under-the-influence program is a violation of probation. In order to enable all required persons to participate, each person shall pay the program costs commensurate with the person's ability to pay as determined pursuant to Section 11837.4 of the Health and Safety Code. No condition of probation required pursuant to this subdivision is a basis for reducing any other probation requirement in this section or Section 23600 or for avoiding the mandatory license revocation provisions of paragraph (5) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352.
  3. In addition to the provisions of Section 23600 and subdivision (a), if the court grants probation to any person punished under Section 23546 who has not previously completed a treatment program pursuant to paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section 23542 or paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section 23562, and unless the person is ordered to participate in and complete a driving-under-the-influence program under subdivision (b), the court shall impose as a condition of probation that the person, subsequent to the date of the current violation, enroll and participate, for at least 18 months and in a manner satisfactory to the court, in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as designated by the court. The person shall complete the entire program subsequent to, and shall not be given any credit for program activities completed prior to, the date of the current violation. Any person who has previously completed a 12-month or 18-month program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code shall not be eligible for referral pursuant to this subdivision unless a 30-month licensed driving-under-the-influence program is not available for referral in the county of the person's residence or employment. The program shall provide for persons who cannot afford the program fee pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of Section 11837.4 of the Health and Safety Code in order to enable those persons to participate. No condition of probation required pursuant to this subdivision is a basis for reducing any other probation requirement in this section or Section 23600 or for avoiding the mandatory license revocation provisions of paragraph (5) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352.

Protecting your rights.

Footer-1

Here to protect your rights and fight for you.

Call Today

Slide-2

Let's talk about your case.

82 Discovery
Irvine , CA 92618
949-872-2700
949-872-2708 (fax)
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri: 08:00am - 06:30pm